I Hate When This Happens

12 Dec

There is a melodic punk rock band called Rise Against. Though the bands conformist, hard left politics always annoyed me, I was able to look beyond that and appreciate the music. Sadly, I can no longer even do that. With the song Hero of War, they have taken away my ability to even reluctantly enjoy their music. The song in question paints the tale of a soldier who is a patriotic cliche who goes off to war and does bad things, with no context as to why he might be there. It paints soldiers as men who torture, murder and brutalize the innocent. It’s a cheap tune designed to appeal to leftists who’ve bought into the false narrative that, if it wasn’t for the ugly Americans the world would be all rainbows and kittens. It’s disgusting to see somebody like Tim McIlrath, who has never sacrificed a damn thing, is out there slandering all soldiers. It’s not like he’s ever done a song on the good that soldiers do, but that’s because it wouldn’t fit into his narrow political mindset.

This cliche portrayal of soldiers is nothing original. It can be seen in a number of Hollywood films and in your local university classroom. It’s an attitude born out ignorance. These leftists rarely see war on the news, unless the US is involved. As a result, they assume the rest of the world is as wonderful and peaceful as their San Fransisco coffee house, until the ugly Americans show up. It’s as much the medias fault as their own, that they turn a blind eye to the suffering of people living in “peace” around the world. Where are the songs about women who lose their faces to acid because they weren’t sufficiently modest or people who suffer horribly in Iranian prisons because they simply want a little liberty and freedom? For the leftist, who takes the freedom earned by their forefathers through blood, sweat, and tears for granted, it’s far too easy to ignore the injustice others must suffer, while they crusade for the rights of cows. Another band meets my trash bin because their musical talent is vastly overshadowed by their naivety and progressive posturing. Congrats guys and enjoy the bin.

7 Responses to “I Hate When This Happens”

  1. DPunch December 12, 2009 at 9:54 AM #

    Another phony attitude I have seen the left and it’s celebrity marketing team push on us is what they view as “pity” for the sodiers who will all inevitably come back somehow broken or a darker shadow of their former selves. The fact that they view such bravery, sacrafice, and heroism in a pitiful light is, well, pitiful. And, yet it is rarely challenged when used as another arguement against war…well, any war the US is involved in.

    The problem with the left’s attitudes of mistrust, fear, and pity for the American soldier is that they are simply thin masks for the ugliest emotion: jealousy. Jealousy for those who represent everything they are not.

    • StickeeNotes December 12, 2009 at 10:31 AM #

      I’ve seen far too many people slowly devolve into shells of their former selves and none of them went to war. War is stressful and traumatic, of that there is no doubt, but it’s not without purpose or greater significance. And that’s more than most on the left can say about their own lives. The countless celebutards who run off to poisonous Hollywood and piss their lives should be enough for code pink to surround that entire town and protest its destructive impact. If somebody feels motivated to stand in front of a recruiters tent and protest, they should spend some time in front of a “talent” agency doing the same. No blood for bad movies!

  2. Candice December 12, 2009 at 11:08 AM #

    When a friend of mine came home from an 18 month tour in Iraq we’d often talk about his time there. The shit he went through and the stuff that most people don’t hear about. He was talking for a good 30 minutes and he said, “yeah, it sucked” I responded with, “I cannot even fathom that level of suck.” And it’s true. I’ve never been to war, never killed anyone, never feared for my life, never watched my best friend die. I can’t judge nor can I comprehend what it was like. I don’t even understand how Hollywood or the music industry can pretend they do. They’re so far removed from reality as it is. Sure they have the means to take their pretty jets to Iraq or Afghanistan to play shows for soldiers, but how many of them are willing to put on a uniform and stand next to them? Whether its a great band or a great movie director, until they’ve been their and fought for our freedom, I wish they’d kindly STFU.

    • StickeeNotes December 12, 2009 at 12:20 PM #

      Same here. I can’t possibly grasp what it’s like to be over there and deal with the realities of war. A guy goes over there and he loses his best friend and is crippled for life in a single moment; the physical therapy and lifelong pain is something I can never grasp. But I know that the bravery these men, like my cousin’s son, have shown is due more respect than Hollywood and the left gives. That’s why I think highly of people like Pat Dollard. He was a Hollywood player and he ditched that life after he got to see first hand what the guys in uniform were doing over in Iraq. I wish more would take his lead. http://patdollard.com/about/

  3. DPunch December 12, 2009 at 2:59 PM #

    We are a far cry from the generation of Clark Gable, Ted Williams, and Jimmy Stewart. The closest we got was Pat Tillman…God rest his soul.

  4. Houston December 17, 2009 at 6:42 AM #

    You are right on.

    I was once ridiculed because I stopped buying Green Day’s albums once they went political. I have my opinions forged through my life’s experiences and mistakes. I will discuss what I feel and agree to disagree with whomever, but I refuse to have a band preach at me through their music.

    If I don’t agree with your message, I’m not going to spend my hard earned dollars to promote something I don’t agree with.

    It’s even worse when the Dixie Chicks and others go political, and then whine about people not buying or playing their music. When you state your views you are throwing them out there, not everyone will agree with them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention I Hate When This Happens « Stickee Notes -- Topsy.com - December 12, 2009

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Harold Stickeehands, Mike . Mike said: @StickeeNotes I hate when politics ruins music for me http://is.gd/5l3uU | Essentially why I almost solely listen to instrumental Jazz. […]

Leave a Reply

